On January 1, 2020, things are about to change. A lot.
If your business meets one or more of the following criteria, the California Consumer Privacy Act (CCPA) applies to you;
The business has gross annual revenues in excess of $25 million
Buys, receives, or sells the personal information of 50,000 or more California residents, households or devices per year
Derives 50 percent or more of annual revenues from selling the personal information of California residents
These criteria apply even if you do not have any physical presence in the state of California.